Introducing The Egg Shack – Our Eggy Honesty Box!

Woohoo! How cool is this?! Jon has been busy building me an honesty box to live outside our front door, isn’t it fab!

No people knocking on the door when I’m still in my dressing gown or in the middle of dinner, what a novelty!

I would really like to see the hens pay for themselves this year, we charge £1 per half dozen – how much do you guys charge/pay for farm gate eggs?

About Janesarchet

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Happiness, Money, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Introducing The Egg Shack – Our Eggy Honesty Box!

  1. Sandra says:

    It looks great : ) I charge £1 for six. 80p for six small pullet eggs. (although most customers are happy to pay £1)

    I can’t believe how well they are selling. I sell out each day, often within an hour or so of them going out. I’m averaging around £12 + a week at present, about double the cost of feed.

  2. HedgeComber says:

    Isn’t it great to have them laying again?! I’ve certainly missed that cash when I go to the feed store! Do you have an honesty box too Sandra? Any chance of a pic? I’ve become a honesty box stalker – theres one near me that I’m gonna get a photo of soon – it’s so pretty! xx

  3. Sandra says:

    Nothing as grand as yours ! Just a wicker basket which sits on the steps just inside the gate.

  4. oh very nice :)

    we charge £1 for 6 too. but people have to see me in my dressing gown or hastily thrown on clothes. and they complain if there is no answer… i say.. well the thing with keeping hens, sometimes you have to be outside…

    nowhere for an honesty box for us.. so we carry on. your eggy shack looks great :)

  5. Joy Clark says:

    I’d be more than happy to pay £1 per half dozen. You don’t happen to live in mid-Essex, do you?
    No, I thought not! Shame.

    J x

  6. Angela says:

    What does the little sign say inside the egg shack? I am thinking about doing this same thing! :)

    • HedgeComber says:

      Hmmm, off the top of my head I think it says something like; all our happy hens are fed on GM free feed, £1 per half dozen and please return all egg boxes! I’ll check in the morning and if there was anything interesting I missed out I’ll let you know Angela! xx

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!