The Mystery of the Missing Hen…

How does this missing (presumed eaten) hen, make it through a night of Foxes, Badgers & frost and manage to turn up hungry for breakfast.

Frosty Hen

And have I been reading too many Barbara Cartland novels or does she look a little love sick…?

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Happiness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Mystery of the Missing Hen…

  1. I had a hen that took to roosting in the hedge for a while. I thought she had been eaten too because we get so many foxes through. I spotted her emerging from the hedge eventually but I could never find her in the evenings. I was glad when she gave in and went back to the henhouse to sleep.

    Dunno about lovesick but her feet are cold on that frosty ground : )

  2. Sarah says:

    I have a Light Sussex who did exactly the same thing one day last week. I thought I’d never see her again but she reappeared with all the others after the morning school run as if butter would not melt. I think she’s been laying eggs elsewhere too, not that this explains the evening absence… Anyway, great blog… and how can I not follow you when you offer instruction upon the dispatch and preparation of a squirrel? Sarah x

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

