Garden – Before & After!

I get that gardens are s’posed to look messy and dull at this time of year but sadly our back yard actually looks better in the winter before all the stinging nettles and other weeds have chance to take over.

No more. Mum & I dug it over today. I reckon it took a good 5 or 6 hours to dig up all those twiggy dead looking thing and untangle them from the weed mat underneath. Nightmare job and my poor back is not happy in the slightest.

However it’s mostly done now. We’ve still got this corner to attack tomorrow then mulch it all and await the transform in a few months to our little ‘back door veggie patch’.

I’m hoping that practically tripping over the veggies will prompt me to make more of an effort this year. Fingers crossed.

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Frugal Food, Happiness, Harvest, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Garden – Before & After!

  1. Lorraine says:

    Looking good! Bet you are tired now though after being in the fresh air all day, but I bet it also feels good.

  2. Jo says:

    Our garden is shaded by the neighbours’ trees on all three sides so it is almost impossible to grow anything edible. However, one neighbour had an enormous eucalyptus tree pruned so there were just one little gap last summer where the sun peeked through occasionally. I put a big tub in there where the sun hit and grew runner beans in it and loved the immediacy of the tub to pan to plate. We have an allotment in order to grow fruit and veg but as we are out at work all day, we have to plan in visits to collect food for cooking. I’m sure you’ll love being able to pop out of the door and pick something immediately. We also had a tub immediately outside the back door with a variety of salad leaves in it and apart from the freshness angle, we must have saved a fortune over the summer months : )

  3. sharie says:

    Well done – you can really see you’ve worked hard. I tackled a few hot spots in my garden the other day, you’d think weeds would be easier to rip up at this time of year wouldn’t you?
    BTW just spotted your ferreting post. Brought back memories of when I used to go out with the dh and do the same thing. On a cold day I can remember standing around rabbit holes freezing….brrrrrrrrr.

    • HedgeComber says:

      Ooh, I know what you mean – the thought of going out in a keen wind to clear a hedge is not nice but when you’re just popping out catch a bunny for tea it’s not quite so scary! Thanks for stopping by Sharie x

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

