Ice Skating at The Eden Project

If you’ve never heard of or never been to the Eden Project in Cornwall then put it on your To Do list. The brief story behind it is that an amazing man named Tim Smit saw a huge derelict clay pit and decided to create an educational, environmental theme park in it.

It took him years to get funding and although Coca Cola & Walls ice cream were trying to throw money at the project he declined, not wanting to be in the pockets of any multi nationals.

It opened fully in 2001 and has become a massive attraction for Cornwall.

This is one of our favourite times of the year as every winter they install a ice skating rink.

The first time we went skating I was SO excited! I’d pre ordered the tickets, got everyone hyped up and took Jons kids down there to play! We got our skates on, they opened the gates and finally we were on the ice. I was TERRIFIED! I clung to the side all the way round as my feet were slipping our from under me at all angles. All I could think about was how would I be able to work or drive if I broke a bone.

Growing up can be so sad huh?

Nowadays I am there purely as ice photographer/mascot. I sit on the edge drinking hot chocolate and taking photos of Jon and the kids as they swish round doing fancy things with their skates.

Must admit, I quite enjoy it.

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

