Fancy a little farm tour of my morning chores?

 

First up SassyCat brings me breakfast.

Err, thanks cat.

Next it’s up to Dads allotment where we recently put out our (not so) baby ducklings to overwinter so they can fertilise & devour all the baddies in the soil thus improving next years crop of veggies. They obviously were complaining at the empty bowl & slow service this morning.

Then over to Dads laying hens. Due to all the rain Cornwall has had of late (we’ve not had any flooding here thankfully) the ‘front’ door is swollen shut and I don’t have the strength or patience to prise it open of a morning so I let the girls out of the mezzanine level. They weren’t too impressed either.

But they’d done their job well. 7 hens, 7 eggs.

Next we wander down to the part of the farm that Jon & I have commandeered. It involves walking through the new orchard which on a day like this is no hardship. In the middle of the pic you can just make out a duck awaiting my arrival on the gate. They weren’t too happy either, I’d taken far to long photographing and cooing over other, more inferior birds before rushing down to feed them.

This is said bird on gate. We never intended to keep him very long (it’s been almost 2 years now) so he never got a more official name than ‘Big Fella’. Before you ask, he’s supposed to look like that.

I then let my poor laying hens out of the barn and the ducks rush in to grab breakkie. There is one feeder that they all share, that is always full of food so it’s a bit of a scrum but they work it out in the end.

Finally I let out the Twizzlers, Crimbo & Yule. They are SO big now and I really think they need to meet the freezer soon but Jon isn’t convinced. I think he secretly likes having them around.

When my (grumpy and ungrateful) feathered friends are all fed and happy it’s back home to feed me. Wanna share your morning rounds? xx

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Ducks, Happiness, Smallholding, Turkey. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fancy a little farm tour of my morning chores?

  1. Serenata says:

    Wonderful tour of your morning chores! Great birds. I've fed 'our' birds this morning…of the wild variety.

  2. What a lovely place and what a lovely life xx

  3. Janie says:

    I no longer buy feed for the wild birds Serenata as I figure I do enough for Cornwalls bird population as it is!Thanks Froogs – I promise not a day goes by when I take any of this for granted xx

  4. Amazing piccies! Love it! I can't say that my morning chores are anywhere near quite as outdoors-y and wholesome as these! :)

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

