Fox 1 – Chooks 1

This little fella was in our garden today, literally stood 6 foot away from me. I crouched down and put the 4 boxes of eggs I was carrying on the ground and he came right up to me, sniffed my hand then proceeded to drag off a box of eggs! Cheeky beggar!

I fetched a bowl with some fat left in from our weekend roast and put that out in the field to keep him close by so Dad had time to fetch his gun. A sad moment for sure as he showed such courage to come up close to me. I’ve never seen a fox so close, he was stunning.

Some parts of working the land are pretty horrid.

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fox 1 – Chooks 1

  1. Elaine says:

    Awww poor fox, but at least you did it the best way.Love and blessingsxxxxxxxxxx

  2. angel says:

    Oh my goodness………. he took a box of eggs……. No!If its gotta be done, what a way to do it.Love and hugs Honey. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

