Poorly Duckling

I found this little one yesterday with part of her bill missing.


I don’t think her mamma or siblings could have bitten it so unless she managed to do it to herself somehow my thoughts are that one of the hens went for her through the chicken wire fence and bit a chunk out.

The flesh underneath was exposed and was fresh pink looking. This morning it has slightly shrivelled and darkened in colour. I’ve sat and watched her feeding, drinking & preening all as normal and I touched it with my finger when I took these shots and it didn’t appear to hurt her. I’ll keep a close eye on her and hope that she learns to deal with her little impromptu surgery.

If anyone has any advice on how I should be treating this please get in touch.

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Ducks, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poorly Duckling

  1. angel says:

    I dont know honey, but awwww poor icklie.:-(How are they fairing in this heat … oh and you of course.:-)Dont see much of you nowerdays? i hope your missing me…:-)Haha……. loads of love and hugs Mwah X x X x X x X x X x X x X x X

  2. Poor babe :( Very gorgeous though!

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

