A Saturday in Spring.

Our saturday ritual starts off with a ‘Jonny Fry Up’, a yummy bacon butty for me and the full works for Jon. He wouldn’t let me show you guys his breakfast… I wonder why…?

Next we decided to get off the farm and go for a walk down to the bay, it’s only a mile and it is such a pretty walk.

These walks tend to take a very, very, very long time,

as Jon likes to photograph and ID plants on the way.
My ID skills are useless in comparison as I am mainly interested in the ones that we can eat!
We have 3 types of wild garlic in our lanes, the top one (Tri Cornered Garlic) is by far my favourite which is very handy cos it is the also the most prolific around here. It doesn’t lose it’s flavour or go bitter after flowering so it has a much longer kitchen season too.

This one is called Ramsons…

And this one is Hedge Garlic. It was the first time I’d eaten this one and didn’t think much of it to be honest. Jon assures me it’s better to catch it before it flowers.
Hows this for a mutant stinger?!

When we (finally) got to the beach we picked a bunch of Sea Beet for the Sunday roast and then had hot chocolate in the cafe. 

And one last pic to share with you, I love this time of year xx

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Beachcombing, Frugal Food, Happiness, Harvest, Wild Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Saturday in Spring.

  1. Looks like a lovely place for a walk around and lots of tasty things to spy.I love your pledge below, sounds like a great thing to do. Let us know how you get on.

  2. Lace hearts says:

    Sea beet… I have never tried that, nor would know how to cook it. Is it tasty? I wanna try it!Love the pics… wish I had been on the walk, but almost as good, though was longing for a pic of the bay and the cafe and the hot choc. ;-)Loved also your post about the dressmaking – I think you are just a few months too early. Never too late. x

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

