What to do with 4 Cheap Pineapples…

…Jam of course!

I googled and googled and amongst all the online heathens making jam out of tinned pineapple (what exactly is the point of that???) I found Machelle over at chopped-tomatoes who has a sensible, simple recipe to use up 4 of the ripest sweetest, scrummiest, pineapples that I found at the greengrocers as for a mere 50p each!

As her tutorail can’t be improved on go looksee at her blog if you need to know how to recreate it, here is the direct link http://www.chopped-tomatoes.com/pineapple-jam-time

Oh boy, it is gooooood.
About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Frugal Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to do with 4 Cheap Pineapples…

  1. MaryPoppins says:

    Thank you Janie, what a brilliant recipe, I too have left a comment on blog, I have asked and you would probably know the answer actually, if the sugar is jam sugar, I know you can use ordinary sugar for some fruits. I am definately going to go for it :)Well done on the thrift pineapples :) MaryX

  2. Janie says:

    I used jam sugar hun cos I had some in but I think the point of the lemon ‘shell’ is to release pectin so you can use normal sugar (I didn’t add the lemon skin). Mine turned out ok, bit runny but will report back in the morning after its properly cooled xx

  3. angel says:

    Yuk dont do Jammy type stuff, but dont let me stop yous…. enjoy.I love coming here to read what you get up to MP.Love and hugs honey X x X x X x X

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

