Withy Hurdles

Jon has been clearing an overgrown area down by the lake so that we can heavily replant it for future coppicing. There were several willows that he took out and yesterday he taught me how to make fence panels (or hurdles) from the thin branches (or withies).

These hurdles will be used to section off runs for the birds when breeding kicks off come spring and will look a whole heap nicer than the mess of chicken wire and ramshackle gates we currently hold them in with.

The first one we did helped us learn a lot, so please dont look too closely! The upright stakes were way to close together which made it tricky to weave the bigger withies as we neared the top of the hurdle.

But after an hour or two we had a fully functioning piece of fence that cost nothing other than time and used no resources other sweat.

If only more things in life were that easy.

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Bushcraft, Chickens, Ducks, Smallholding. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Withy Hurdles

  1. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant…. withies always make me think of the Somerset Levels!If only life’s hurdles were as controllable!Well done.xxxxx

  2. angel says:

    You never cease to amaze me.I would love to live where you are it looks idilic………Love and hugs Honey XXXXXXXXXXX

  3. Lucy says:

    Lucky!I wish we had something like that here in Missouri. My poor birds have to make do with what I can find for them. Mostly now they run free. They like that but when spring hits and I have to plant the garden again the will have to be penned up. Last year they kept eating all my seeds. Not cool!

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

