Snuggly Sunday!

What a fabulous day! Jon & I mooched all morning in a lazy Sunday type manner and then we suddenly got motivated and upped & offed to the beach.

No sooner had we got there than we went our seperate ways, him with his camera to photograph wild edible plants along the nearby lanes. Amongst many others he logged & snapped Knotted Figwort, Bedstraw, Alexanders, Comon Sorrel, Milk Thistle, Shaggy Inkcap, Hogweed, Greater Plantain, Sea Beet, Water Cress.

I wandered off to the low tide line to see what could be scavenged. My crab radar was on full blast after my earlier crabby adventure this week & I found several of the tasty little fellas hiding in crevices, one of which would have made a decent size meal but he had cleverly wedged himself in SO tightly! Limpets, Winkles & tiny Hermit Crabs and, and, and… I really must order a book on the subject as there were so many other little critters that I don’t know the names of.

We then gathered some wood, got a little fire going and sat in the rain cooking sausages on sticks. Who could ask for a nicer day!

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Beachcombing, Seafood, Wild Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snuggly Sunday!

  1. Oooh what a lovely day!You made me think of the Ray Mears programme I saw last night where Maoris were cooking shellfish and fish in kelp – the original cook in the bag! Hope you enjoyed your sea-sausage!Happy days.

  2. angel says:

    I am so glad you enjoyed your Fishy day, you make it all sound so lovely. :-)

  3. Lace hearts says:

    That sounds like a perfect day!Thanks so much for your comment on my sewing post – I don’t live in the sticks, yet I can’t seem to find any sewing groups locally! I do need it, desperately! Have a fab weekend. x

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

