The Hedge Comber goes Beach Combing…

I was up and out early today for the monthly business breakfast meeting I attend. My best mate goes too so its always worth the effort and we usually go get a coffee afterwards. I could have then gone home and finished my bookwork or cleaned out birds or done the washing but instead I met up with another friend, Mark, and skived off to the beach.

We went crabbing and with very low midday tide we were quite hopeful on what we’d find. We spent a couple of hours turning up rocks and finding some very cool creatures including several small pipe fish, loads of starfish (one which was about 8″ across and was white with blue bumps!) and a few other things that I don’t remember names of.

We ended up with 2 Velvet Swimming crabs, 1 Edible crab and a 10″ catfish for the pot. Mark got a fire going, I wandered out to the tide for fresh seawater and we cooked up a storm.

Corrr, they were yummy!

None of the crabs were particularly big and I surprised myself by preferring the taste of the velvets over the edibles – they had a much better flavour. The little catfish was actually really tasty (neither of us had eaten one before) although very it was very bony and would benefit from being fried or baked rather than boiled. I also brought home some sea lettuce which is a bright vivid green seaweed and is my absolute favourite. It tastes kind of nutty and I shall dry todays stash to add flavour and goodness to winter soups.

Jon doesn’t eat any seafood and Marks lady is veggie so when we come together for the occasional coastal forage we wholeheartedly appreciate our friendship!

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Beachcombing, Wild Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hedge Comber goes Beach Combing…

  1. claire says:

    Sounds like a lovely day, great fun.

  2. angel says:

    Urk…… urk….. not a seafoodie person me……. minging……. but you somehow make it sound tasty!Sounds like you have an idilic life Hedgie, your posts always make me smile.Love and hugs Honey X x X x X X x X

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

