Anyone for turkey..?

Whilst picking up my new Cornish Cross table birds from Senara at Hendra Farm this week I kinda fell in love with the 3 turkeys that she had left. Jon & I had already discussed it and he had convinced me that we didn’t need them, they would cause more work and cost more for materials as they can’t live with chooks n ducks due to a nasty disease called blackhead which would kill them.

Senara put my mind at rest with regards to the disease, so long as they are wormed regularly, apparently they can live in harmony. The plan now is to grow them, eat them, and then decide whether we want to produce them on a slighty bigger scale for next year.

So, today I am off to pick them up. Bless! Photo’s soon to follow…

http://www.hendrafarmcottages.co.uk/hendrafarm/poultry.html

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Chickens, Turkey. Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

