Hearth & Home

The past couple of weeks have seen us closer to home than normal what with the garden starting to flourish and seed trays bursting into life on the windowsills. A further reason to keep my attention in the home is mum giving me an antique singer sewing machine that she bought for just £5!

I googled for info and found that Singer’s can be aged by the serial number. It turns out my machine was released on June 21st 1924. Wow! What stories could this beautifully crafted gem tell us! I have spent the past couple of days in a romantic haze imagining the life of the original owner, how this new gadget transformed her workload or hobby. If only it could talk.

So onto the sewing… As I am not naturally gifted in this department I roped mother into helping me suss it all out, and eventually we figured out how to thread it, bobbin it and even to fill a fresh bobbin. We wiped, polished and oiled her up, examined every nook and cranny and have both settled on the conclusion that she is one of the best made machines we have ever come across. Since then I have been learning (the hard way!) how to sew – nothing to show as yet but I promise I will soon.

Further thoughts…
…What a sad time we live in where we know that the life span of our shiny new widgets are built to barely exceed the warranty offered, where products have a limited shelf life for no other reason than to ‘buoy the economy’ (read political spin) with no regard to the waste that is created during production, transportation, retail and ultimately disposal.
I would like more things in my life that are built well with care and old fashioned values.

PS if you share these sentiments check out this little film… http://www.storyofstuff.com/

About HedgeComber

A Field-to-Fork food blogger based on a small farm in Cornwall, UK.
This entry was posted in Crafting, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Go on, leave me a comment... Make my day!

